A 17-syllable Icebreaker Can Reveal A Lot

In the beginning

I want to know my learners

Their Challenge: Haiku

 

I model the task

I’m not “too good” to do this

I write on flipchart

Haiku

 

My haiku reveals

I really like Mr. Sketch

And lifelong learning

 

Breaking the ice – smiles

Or sometimes they roll their eyes

But now I know them

 

Their expectations

Their subject matter knowledge

Three intriguing lines

 

Use this icebreaker

The next time you meet learners

What will they reveal?

 

Actually, don’t wait!

Leave a comment in haiku

What is your story?

 

The Train Like A Champion Blog is published Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.  If you think someone else might find this interesting, please pass it along.  If you don’t want to miss a single, brilliant post, be sure to click “Follow” at the top of the page!

12 thoughts on “A 17-syllable Icebreaker Can Reveal A Lot

  1. Awesome, Brian! I totally want to do this at my next IT training. “Describe what you expect from this session with a haiku.” Love it.

    • Kirby – now THAT would be fascinating. I’ve generally done this in the social services sector where people are a little more willing to play along. Let me know how it goes with your IT audience!

Leave a Reply

