Supervisor, Supervisor What Do You See?

I spent a lot of money getting a masters degree in pursuit of the question: how do you get training to “stick”?  I wish someone had simply given me a textbook that went something like this… 

Supervisor

Supervisor, supervisor, what do you see?

I see a skills gap looking at me.

 Skills Gap

Skills gap, skills gap, what do you see?

I see some new professional development goals looking at me.

 Goals

Professional development goals, professional development goals, what do you see?

I see well-constructed learning objectives looking at me.

 Action-oriented learner-centered objectives

Learning objectives, learning objectives, what do you see?

I see participants who will be able to explain, describe and demonstrate skills to me.

 Participants

Participants, participants, what do you see?

I see a presenter who knows how to engage me.

Presenter

Presenter, presenter, what do you see?

I see flipcharts, case studies, role plays, simulations, videos and just a touch of PowerPoint looking at me.

Materials

Training materials, training materials what do you see?

I see learners ready to transfer new skills engaged with me.

Ready for transfer

Learners, learners, what do you see?

I see…

  • A variety of well-put together training materials
  • Skilled and polished presenters
  • A roomful of engaged learners
  • Action-oriented, learner-focused objectives
  • Professional goals aligned with the learning objectives
  • A clear skills gap to fill
  • And a supervisor who – both before and after the training – knows how to support me

That’s what I see!

I See Everything

The Train Like A Champion Blog is published Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.  If you think someone else might find this interesting, please pass it along.  If you don’t want to miss a single, brilliant post, be sure to click “Follow” at the top of the page!

6 thoughts on “Supervisor, Supervisor What Do You See?

    • Thanks. Yes – it’s a failry simple and logical message, but it’s not always well received or well embraced when it’s stated in a straight forward way… so I thought I’d try something a little different.

  1. Another great post! First Dr. Seuss, then Eric Carle… Can the next one be Sandra Boynton-stlye?
    -MA for LINGOs (and the parents among us)

  2. Pingback: Gamification: Am I Doing It Right? | Train Like A Champion

  3. Pingback: Assessing Learning Needs: 3 Questions to Ask before You Start Facilitating | Train Like A Champion

Leave a Reply

