Want Direct Access to Like-minded Professionals on a Regular Basis? Try a Tweet Chat.

Biding your time until you can attend another conference? Looking for ways to connect with other learning and development professionals from around the world?

Twitter just might cure what ails you.

Tweet Chats are the lowest cost, most impactful professional development opportunities I’ve stumbled across over the past year. If you’re not familiar with the concept, a Tweet Chat is a Twitter-based, moderated dialogue about a range of hot topics and current trends and generally lasts for 60 minutes.

Four benefits I’ve reaped from participating in these discussions include:

  1. Easy development of a Personal Learning Network
  2. Easy introductions to people you’ll bump into at a conference (never feel awkward trying to find someone to have lunch with during a conference again!)
  3. Direct access to scores of like-minded professionals and industry thought-leaders on a regular basis
  4. Exposure to questions, practices and industry trends you may not otherwise have thought about

Following is a short list of Tweet Chats that learning and development professionals may be interested in:

  • Chat2Lrn (every other Thursday at 8:00am Pacific/11:00am Eastern)
  • LrnChat (Thursday evenings at 5:30pm Pacific/8:30pm Eastern)
  • GuildChat (Fridays at 11:00am Pacific/2:00pm Eastern)

Participating in a Tweet Chat can be oddly intimidating the first time. Your brilliance needs to be distilled down to 140 characters at a time. Plus, jumping into a Tweet Chat can feel like trying to break into a clique.

Fear not. I’ve found that regulars not only embrace new participants, but it’s a huge ego boost the first time one of your responses gets re-tweeted.

Know someone else who might want to engage with learning and development professionals on a more regular basis? Please pass this article along!

I hope I’ll find you participating in a Tweet Chat soon… maybe even tonight’s LrnChat or tomorrow’s GuildChat. In the meantime, feel free to connect with me on Twitter today.

 

2 thoughts on “Want Direct Access to Like-minded Professionals on a Regular Basis? Try a Tweet Chat.

    • Thanks for the additional suggestion, Ryan!

      I love the *concept* of #Lrnbk (not sure I love it enough to join on Mondays at 4am Pacific time… but perhaps I’ll catch it when I’m traveling to India for work!).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s