Why “curation” is so 2015… and what’s taking its place

Landscape

Last week I was perusing my LinkedIn feed and saw that LINGOs CEO Chris Proulx had shared this article by Josh Bersin, with a provocative (dangerously close to click bait) title “Make HR ‘Go Away'”.

I was particularly taken by this paragraph: “The word ‘curation’ was probably the word of the year in 2015 or so. Today I think even the concept of curation is out of date: we need machine intelligence and predictive analytics (‘people like me will most likely click on X’) to sort this all out. We now read about false news on social media and even companies like Facebook and Google are struggling to figure out how to make relevant content easier to find.”  

On Monday I shared some thoughts on why I like Degreed as a personal/professional development tool. It does exactly what Josh Bersin was talking about, it uses machine intelligence and predictive analysis to identify articles, podcasts, videos and books that may appeal to me and my interests in learning and development, storytelling, PowerPoint design and elearning.

Following is a sampling of resources that Degreed has identified and recommended for me (and which I probably wouldn’t have come across otherwise):

1. Bob McDonald, President, CEO and Chairman of Proctor & Gamble, discussing the culture of learning at his organization, particularly the process of “after action learning” that’s integrated into how employees deal with mistakes.

 

2. An article from MindTools entitled: How Good Are Your Presentation Skills? This is an interesting article because it includes a short, online quiz to help you perform a self-assessment of your presentation skills. And it’s an interesting quiz… not every habit that you’re asked about in the quiz is actually a good habit to be in. It really makes you stop and think for a moment.

3. A 6-minute video featuring Gilda Bonanno talking about the effective use of non-verbal communication in a presentation (even a webinar!).

 

My own personal list goes on.

I’ll continue to scour blogs and my Twitter feed and LinkedIn for articles that my contacts recommend, and I highly recommend that all L&D professionals continue to expand their own personal learning networks – both in person and through social media. At the same time, I’ve found Degreed to be an incredible resource that turns up new content that others aren’t uncovering and sharing with me.

How about you? How are you coming across new resources and learning opportunities to hone your craft?

 

2 thoughts on “Why “curation” is so 2015… and what’s taking its place

  1. Interesting idea Brian! I love it and intend to take a look at Degreed. One thing that rolls about in my head about this is “what am I not looking for but should?” I think about the fake news idea and how we are often fed things that an algorithm thinks we ought to like because of previous patterns and behaviors. As an avid learner I like to devour info, but what might I be missing because of a programmer’s (or my own) biases? What lessons do I need to learn but have not yet found?

    • Ha! Thanks Scott. Someone tweeted a similar point (about fake news or biased algorithms) at me today when the post first went up. My response was that it’s good to have a healthy skepticism of any source who recommends content – whether that’s a computer/AI or whether it’s a colleague. Misinformation about learning styles or fake diagrams about Dale’s Cone were being circulated long before AI came along recommending articles.

      That said, I really do appreciate the recommended content from Degreed – I’ve found it to be recommending videos and blog posts and articles from thought leaders that I probably wouldn’t have stumbled upon otherwise.

Leave a Reply

