The One Word Resolution (2017 Edition)

2017

At the end of each year, I try to identify one word that can serve to center me as a look at the year ahead. It’s a word I can commit to over the coming year in order to stay focused and working toward a singular purpose.  

In 2013, the word was momentum. In 2014 it was possibility. In 2015 it was execution and in 2016 it was risk.

As I look ahead to 2017, I see a lot of things on the horizon. Big goals that involve big growth – both personally and professionally. If I want to be able to accomplish these goals, I really will need to be focused with ruthless prioritization. And therein lies my one-word resolution for 2017:

Ruthless.

Not in a Machiavellian-power-grab sense of the word. I’ve chosen ruthless because it embodies the way in which I will need to make decisions in the coming year.

Ruthless means setting aside the fun-to-do things in order to focus on the must-do things. Presentation skills workshops and instructional design are some things that I find fun, but are these the best ways for me to be spending my time in 2017 or should I be more focused on strategy and business development?

 

Ruthless means turning away opportunities that I could do and that lead to marginal improvements in my skills and abilities so that I have more time to focus on opportunities that push me forward in leaps and bounds. Do I try to make the case for me to attend a conference like DevLearn next year or do I spend my time finding stretch assignments that give me greater exposure to senior leadership?

This new “ruthless” approach may even be apparent in my blog over the next year as I look to follow the advice that bloggers are given every day (and which I’ve rarely heeded): don’t use 10 words to write about something when 5 words will do. Over the next year, I’ll be working on ruthlessly editing my posts to make them as clean and crisp as possible.

How about you? Is there one word (or maybe a phrase) that you’d like to commit to in the next year? Let’s hear it in the Comment section.

Thank you so much for reading my posts this year. I’ll be taking a break from Train Like A Champion from now until the new year. Have a very wonderful holiday season!!

Brian

 

4 thoughts on “The One Word Resolution (2017 Edition)

  1. Because I am beginning to transition into a retirement mode in the next two years I guess my one word for 2017 will be
    “commitment. ”
    By that I mean committed to saying no to more than 2 travel events per month. Commitment to saying yes to being at home more with family. Commitment to finding more time for eating well, staying fit, Yoga, volunteer opportunities. When you love what you do, when you have a gift for that work, it can be very difficult to transitioning away from it.

  2. Love this. I haven’t found my 2017 word yet – but another way to integrate it is to insert your word into your password somehow – we enter our passwords so many times a day it is always good to make it something your are working towards or aware of. https://medium.com/@manicho/how-a-password-changed-my-life-7af5d5f28038#.nslwgg2zw
    (its also a good reminder to update your passwords – my 2014 or 2015 need updating…. hopefully I hit those goals and I am working on something new)

Leave a Reply

